Pursuant to direction from Government of J&K for reorganization of the power sector in the state, J&K Power Development Department was unbundled into separate Companies with functional responsibilities for generation, transmission, distribution and trading of electricity with complete autonomous operations.
Accordingly, the distribution undertakings and functions of the Kashmir region of the erstwhile JKPDD stand transferred to and vest in Kashmir Power Distribution Corporation Limited. The corporation was incorporated on 30th October, 2019, primarily to carry out distribution of electricity to retail and bulk consumers. The Company is engaged in distribution of electricity in 10 districts namely Srinagar, Ganderbal, Baramulla, Anantnag, Budgam, Pulwama, Shopian, Kupwara, Kulgam & Bandipora.